Fixing Blueish in Youtube (Flash) in Pangolin

When I tested Pangolin from Live CD, I didn’t encounter any color problem with Youtube. After I installed Pangolin into my system, and then installed NVidia proprietery driver, then I started encounter this blue color problem when watching Youtube or any other flash-based video streaming website.

I tried to find a solution for this problem in many forums. Most of them pointing the problem to Adobe, and some pointing to NVidia. I didnt care about this pointing problem, because I need those two software, so I needed a solution.

Eventually I found out the source of the problem is flash-based video cannot run using hardware acceleration. There are some solutions that suggested in forums:

  • Remove “libvdpau1” package from Pangolin system. This package is used by flash for hardware acceleration.
  • Disable hardware acceleration option from Youtube. Right-click on the video, select “Settings” and then untick the “Hardware Acceleration”. But alas, I couldn’t untick it, and I couldn’t remove the “Settings” window either. From this thread in this forum I found out that compiz cause this problem. So, I logged out from my system, logged in again using Unity 2D, and now it was possible to disable the hardware acceleration. I logged out and logged in again, and then tried to watch Youtube again. Voila, the blueish color was gone.




One thought on “Fixing Blueish in Youtube (Flash) in Pangolin

  1. Thanks a lot man, I just unchecked the box in youtube by right clicking and it worked well!

    Got the same problem for 1 week without finding any solution

Leave a Reply

