Entering VMWare BIOS


This morning I was trying to install Ubuntu Server on my VMWare using VMWare player. The installation is on an ISO file. So, I mount the ISO file to a VMWare’s CD-ROM device setting. But, after I booted the VMWare I barely can see the BIOS information, and I can’t enter the BIOS in order to change the booting sequence.

I found a useful information from VMWare forum:

http://communities.vmware.com/message/1306112

It suggest to delay the boot to 5 seconds by adding the following line into the vmx file.

bios.bootDelay = “5000”

Mmmm… Now I can see the boot information and am able to enter the VMWare BIOS by pressing F2 button.

Edit: There is another way to enter VMWare BIOS, it’s also by editing the vmx file:

bios.forceSetupOnce = “TRUE”

When the virtual machine runs, it will directly enter the BIOS, but only one time, because “bios.forceSetupOnce” option will set to “FALSE” automatically. Read this article for more detail.

Thanks, guys.

Leave a Reply

